Skip to main content

Cowboys' Williams named to Pro Bowl team, Hamlin chosen as starter

Dallas Cowboys strong safety Roy Williams has been named to the National Football Conference All-Star team that will face the American Football Conference All-Stars in the 2008 Pro Bowl on Sunday, February 10 in Honolulu, Hawaii (FOX, 4:30 PM ET), the NFL announced today.

In addition, the Cowboys' Ken Hamlin will start at free safety for the NFC team, taking the place of the late Sean Taylor, who was voted in as the starter and was the leading vote-getter at the position among fans, coaches and players.

Williams will make his fifth consecutive appearance in Hawaii. He received the fourth-most votes at safety behind Taylor, starting strong safety Darren Sharper of the Minnesota Vikings and Hamlin.

Hamlin will start in his first Pro Bowl appearance.

The NFL is the only professional sports league that combines voting by fans, coaches and players in determining its All-Star teams. The consensus vote of each group counts one-third towards the total. Each team submits two ballots – those of the coach and the players with no one permitted to vote for a player on his own team. This year, nearly 84 million fan votes (a record 83.7 million) were cast on and on wireless phones with Sprint service.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.