Skip to main content

Colts' Manning edges Saints' Brees for most Pro Bowl votes

Indianapolis Colts quarterback Peyton Manning received 1,545,642 votes to lead all NFL All-Stars in fan balloting for the 2010 Pro Bowl, announced Tuesday, Dec. 22. Fan voting ended on Monday, December 21.

There was a record 89.87 million votes cast on and on wireless phones. Fans cast 84.87 million votes on and five million votes on their wireless phones.

The AFC and NFC All-Star squads are based on the consensus votes of fans, players and coaches. Each group's vote counts one-third towards determining the 43-man rosters that represent the American Football Conference and National Football Conference in the Pro Bowl. NFL players and coaches will cast their votes on Dec. 22-23.

The teams will be announced on Tuesday, December 29 on a special NFL Total Access 2010 Pro Bowl Selection Show on NFL Network.

New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees (1,485,397) ranks second overall, while Minnesota Vikings quarterback Brett Favre (1,466,687 votes), Minnesota Vikings running back Adrian Peterson (1,393,688 votes) and Arizona Cardinals wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald (888,002 votes) round out the top five on

The 2010 Pro Bowl will be played on Sunday, January 31, 2010 and televised live on ESPN at 7:20 PM ET from Dolphin Stadium in South Florida, also the site of Super Bowl XLIV a week later on Sunday, February 7.

Fans can buy tickets to the 2010 Pro Bowl at and or by calling 800-745-3000.

The NFL is the only sports league that combines voting by fans, coaches and players to determine its all-star teams. It was the first professional sports league to offer online all-star voting in 1995.

Listed below are the top 10 vote-getters in the AFC and NFC:

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.