Bills coach Rex Ryan said Monday that Landry's hit was "unsportsmanlike" and that the NFL's competition committee should look into stricter rules such as automatic ejections for targeting on crack-back blocks.
"Never need to launch, hit a guy in the head or neck," Ryan added. "They say it's a football play. It wasn't ... I'm sure Landry realized it was a mistake."
He did. Landry apologized during the game, admitting, "I apologized. I just told (Williams) to get better. You never want to see that happen to anybody. ... If I could take that hit back, I would. It's a guy's livelihood."
Landry was not ejected from the game for the block, although he was penalized for unnecessary roughness at the time.
NFL vice president of officiating Dean Blandino went on Tuesday's edition of *NFL Total Access *to explain why Landry was allowed to remain in the game.
"We have very few automatic ejections in the game today," Blandino explained. "If you get two unsportsmanlike conduct fouls in the same game, if you put your hands on a game official in an aggressive way, those are automatic ejections. Punching an opponent.
"Here's Landry, he's going to block back toward the football. He can't go to the head-neck area of an opponent within five yards on either side of the line of scrimmage. He is going to go to the head-neck. It is certainly a foul. It is certainly something that we'll review for potential discipline, but it's still a football play, and it's tough to read intent there. That's why the officials kept him in the game. It's not an automatic ejection. It's up to the discretion of the crew and they didn't feel like it was flagrant enough to throw the player out of the game."
Blandino also touched on two other controversial plays from Week 7:
On why Brock Osweiler's fumble was ruled a fumble: "Watch, as Brock brings his arm up to throw, look at the football start to come up off of his fingertips just before the hand comes forward. ... It was extremely close. Normally you don't see a football travel that far unless it is a pass. The referee ruled it was a fumble on the field, gave the football to Denver and there wasn't enough evidence to change."
*On why Bobby Wagner wasn't flagged for touching a Cardinals snapper during his FG block: *"(Wagner) can run up and jump, but he can't land on players. Now if he brushes a player or brushes a teammate with incidental contact, that would be legal. So he's gonna run, jump and clear the line, block the kick. ... You can see that there is some contact. His foot is going to brush the back of the snapper, but that is not significant contact; it's incidental. He didn't land on players. So that's what made it legal."