NFL Man Of The Year |


Introducing the 32 Walter Payton Man of the Year nominees for 2021

Considered the league's most prestigious honor, the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award presented by Nationwide recognizes NFL players who have exhibited excellence on the field, and whose passion to impact lives extends beyond the game. Here's a look now at this year's nominees.


The Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award recognizes an NFL player for his excellence on and off the field. The award was established in 1970. It was renamed in 1999 after the late Hall of Fame Chicago Bears running back, Walter Payton. Each team nominates one player who has had a significant positive impact on his community.

Representing the best of the NFL's commitment to philanthropy and community impact, 32 players are selected as their team's Man of the Year and become eligible to win the national award.

The winner of the award each year receives a $250,000 donated to the winner's charity of choice. All other 31 nominees receive up to $40,000 donated to their charity of choice. All donations are courtesy of the NFL Foundation and Nationwide.


The Kansas City Chiefs in conjunction with the National Recreation and Parks Association, Time Warner Cable and the NFL Network will provide a youth health and wellness grant of $7,500 to the Grandview Parks & Rec Program, Thursday, May 14, 2015.

The Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award presented by Nationwide Charity Challenge further celebrates and encourages fan support of the 32 Man of the Year nominees. Fans are encouraged to post on Twitter using #WPMOYChallenge followed by the nominee's last name and/or his Twitter handle between December 7th and January 17th.

The nominee who receives the most hashtag mentions will receive a $25,000 donation from Nationwide to his charity of choice. The 2nd and 3rd place finishers will receive $10,000 and $5,000 donations from Nationwide respectively.

On January 4th and 5th, votes using #WPMOYChallenge and the nominee's last name and/or his Twitter handle will count double. The first nominee to reach 1 million votes will receive an additional $10,000 donation from Nationwide. During Super Wild Card Weekend, and the final weekend of voting (Jan. 15-17), several teams around the league will host social media promotions giving fans a chance to win unique Walter Payton Man of the Year themed prizes.

2021 Charity Challenge Leaders

Updated 01/14/2022

Table inside Article
1. Tyrann Mathieu 2. Kenny Moore II 3. Harrison Phillips 4. Justin Simmons 5. Aaron Jones
Chiefs Colts Bills Broncos Packers
Safety Cornerback Defensive Tackle Safety Running Back
Learn More Learn Moore Learn More Learn More Learn More