Photo Essays  


Published: July 29, 2014 at 10:18 p.m.

Mind-blowing stats for the Hall of Fame Class of 2014

Michael Strahan's record-breaking career earned him a spot in the Hall of Fame. Take a look at the mind-blowing stats that brought the class of 2014 to Canton.

10 Photos Total

  • Derrick Brooks 10 Illustration

    Derrick Brooks

    Derrick Brooks and Warren Sapp have been joined at the hip since both were selected in the first round of the 1995 NFL Draft by the Buccaneers, and now they will be joined forever in Canton. How rare is it that two players selected by the same team in the same round of the same draft make the Hall of Fame? Only one other pair of Hall of Famers meet that criteria: Dick Butkus and Gale Sayers, taken with the 3rd and 4th picks in the 1965 draft, by the Chicago Bears.

  • Andre Reed 9 Illustration

    Andre Reed

    Andre Reed retired in 2000 after 16 seasons in the NFL. At the time of his retirement, only Jerry Rice and Cris Carter had more career receptions. Also impressive was Reed's reliability: He played at least 15 games in 13 of his 16 years in the NFL, missing only 22 games in his career. Among Hall of Fame wide receivers, only Jerry Rice (303) and Charlie Joiner (239) played more games than Reed (234).

  • Michael Strahan 8 Illustration

    Michael Strahan

    Michael Strahan has held the single-season record for sacks in a season for 12 years, since recording 22.5 in 2001. Only two other players have held that mark since the NFL began recording sacks for defensive players in 1982. The Vikings' Doug Martin was the league leader, and therefore the first record-holder, during the strike-shortened season of 1982 (11.5). Mark Gastineau broke Martin's record in 1983 (19.0) and he bettered that total a year later with 22, a mark that stood for 17 years until exceeded by Strahan. Since Strahan set the record in 2001, only two players have come within two sacks of the mark: Jared Allen in 2011 (22) and J.J. Watt in 2012 (20.5).

  • Derrick Brooks 7 Illustration

    Derrick Brooks

    Derrick Brooks was named to 10 consecutive Pro Bowls from 1997 through 2006, tying Lawrence Taylor (1981-90) and Mike Singletary (1983-92) for the 2nd-longest streaks by a linebacker. The record is 12 by Junior Seau (1991-2002). Every player in NFL history to make at least 10 consecutive Pro Bowls is in the Hall of Fame, with the exception of former Chiefs guard Will Shields, Seau (eligible in 2015), and Tony Gonzalez (eligible in 2019).

  • Aeneas Williams 6 Illustration

    Aeneas Williams

    Aeneas Williams was a turnover machine in his 14-year NFL career, earning Pro Bowl selections at both cornerback and safety. Williams had 55 interceptions and 20 recoveries of opponents' fumbles, making him one of only two players in NFL history in that 50/20 club, along with former NFL defensive back Eugene Robinson.

  • Ray Guy 5 Illustration

    Ray Guy

    As Rich Eisen can attest, punters are people too, and the Hall of Fame agrees. Ray Guy, the first punter selected in the first round of the draft, will be the first true punter ever enshrined in Canton. Why Guy? He averaged under 40 yards per punt only once in his 14-year career and ranked in the Top 4 in the NFL in yards per punt in 9 consecutive seasons, from his rookie year through 1981, a record that has been matched only once (Shane Lechler).

  • Andre Reed 4 Illustration

    Andre Reed

    In his 9th year of eligibility and 8th time as a finalist, Andre Reed finally had his name called as a member of the Hall of Fame. Although he no longer ranks in the Top 10 in the three major receiving categories, Reed is near the top of another impressive list, surpassed only by two NFL legends. Reed had at least 50 receptions in 13 of his 16 seasons, falling short in his first and last seasons, and an injury-plagued 1995. The two players with more 50-catch seasons than Reed? Hall of Famer Jerry Rice (17) and future HOFer Tony Gonzalez (16).

  • Claude Humphrey 3 Illustration

    Claude Humphrey

    Unfortunately for Claude Humphrey, the defensive end was quite often the best player on a bad team. Humphrey was selected for the Pro Bowl six times while playing for the Falcons, from 1970-74 and again in 1977, though Atlanta never qualified for the playoffs in Humphrey's 11 seasons with the team. Humphrey is the only retired player to enter the NFL in the Super Bowl era to make the Pro Bowl at least six times for one team yet not play in a postseason game for that franchise.

  • Walter Jones 2 Illustration

    Walter Jones

    Walter Jones became the first offensive lineman in Seahawks history to make the Pro Bowl following the 1999 season and would go on to earn trips to the Pro Bowl 9 times, tied for the 4th-most in NFL history among offensive tackles. This summer, Jones will join a proud group of players enshrined in Canton the same calendar year their longtime team won the Super Bowl, with Jonathan Ogden (2013), Rod Woodson (2009) and John Riggins (1992), to name a few.

  • Michael Strahan 1 Illustration

    Michael Strahan

    It's the fairy tale ending to an NFL career: winning the Super Bowl and riding off into the sunset on top. However, it's only been accomplished by six Hall of Famers, including 2014 enshrinee Michael Strahan. The others are Mel Renfro, Ted Hendricks, Russ Grimm, Gary Zimmerman and John Elway.

Discuss ()