Photo Essays  


Published: June 14, 2013 at 12:48 p.m.
Updated: June 14, 2013 at 12:54 p.m.

Mind-blowing stats for the San Diego Chargers

See how Ryan Mathews stacks up against LaDainian Tomlinson with these 10 San Diego Chargers stats that will blow your mind.

10 Photos Total

  • Touchdown record 10

    Associated Press

    Touchdown record

    In 2006, LaDainian Tomlinson set an NFL record, scoring 31 touchdowns (28 rush, 3 rec) on his way to winning NFL MVP. In 2012 eight of the 32 NFL teams scored 31 or fewer touchdowns, including the Kansas City Chiefs, who scored a league-worst 18.

  • Super Bowl appearances 9

    Associated Press/NFL

    Super Bowl appearances

    The Chargers are tied with the Steelers for the second-most consecutive seasons with single-digit losses (nine), behind only the Patriots (12). The Giants and Bears are next, each tied with eight. The Saints sit next with seven. Of these six teams, the Chargers are the only one not to have reached the Super Bowl during their single-digit loss streak.

  • When winning isn't enough 8

    Associated Press

    When winning isn't enough

    Marty Schottenheimer went 47-33 as head coach of the Chargers. He claimed two AFC West crowns and led the team to its best record in franchise history in 2006, going 14-2, the best record in the AFC. Then he was fired. Schottenheimer's replacement, Norv Turner, went 56-40 in his six seasons with San Diego -- winning the AFC West three times and finishing with a losing record only once. The Chargers are the only team whose last two head coaches have been fired after posting winning records with the team. Good luck, Mike McCoy!

  • Touchdown streak 7

    Denis Poroy/Associated Press

    Touchdown streak

    On December 1, 2002, running back LaDainian Tomlinson rushed for 220 yards and 3 touchdowns. That game, a 30-27 victory against the Broncos, was the first of 151 consecutive games in which the Chargers scored a touchdown -- the second longest streak in NFL history. The streak came to an end last season in Week 3, in a 27-3 loss to the Falcons.

  • Junior Seau 6

    Greg Trott/Associated Press

    Junior Seau

    From 1991-2002, Junior Seau made 12 straight Pro Bowls, the most appearances in franchise history. In his 13 seasons with the Chargers, Seau missed only nine of a possible 208 games, finishing with at least 100 tackles 8 times. He finally retired after the 2009 season after 20 NFL seasons. No defensive player period has played longer than Junior Seau.

  • Antonio Cromartie's run 5

    Tom Olmscheid/Associated Press

    Antonio Cromartie's run

    November 4, 2007 was a record-breaking day at the Metrodome. Twice. By game's conclusion, Vikings rookie running back Adrian Peterson rushed for 296 yards, the most in a game in NFL history. Earlier, as time expired in the first half, then Vikings kicker Ryan Longwell attempted a 57-yard field goal, but came up just short. The Chargers' Antonio Cromartie was there to catch the attempt in the back of the endzone, returning the errant kick 109 yards for a TD. The play was the longest return of a missed field goal in NFL history - the longest play in NFL history.

  • Air Coryell 4

    Associated Press/NFL

    Air Coryell

    Head coach Don Coryell and quarterback Dan Fouts teamed up to form the famous "Air Coryell" offense from 1978-86. In each of Coryell's first four full seasons as coach, Fouts led the league in passing yards (1979-82), marking the longest such streak in NFL history. Former Chargers QB Drew Brees has led the NFL in passing in each of the past two seasons. Can he do it for two more?

  • 1961 season 3

    National Football League

    1961 season

    During the Chargers' second season in 1961, the team set a single-season record of 49 interceptions (in 14 games). Those interceptions contributed to an AFL Championship appearance and a record that still stands more than 50 years later. That Chargers defense also set records with 929 interception return yards, nine pick-sixes, and 66 takeaways. Perhaps the city of San Diego's greatest takeaway in 1961 was the franchise itself -- snatching it away from Los Angeles.

  • LT's rushing TDs 2

    Associated Press

    LT's rushing TDs

    Over the 2004 and 2005 seasons, LaDainian Tomlinson set an NFL record with 18 consecutive games rushing for a TD. The Chargers' current starting running back, Ryan Mathews, has 14 rushing touchdowns in his three-year career.

  • Record-breaking duo 1

    National Football League

    Record-breaking duo

    John Hadl and Lance Alworth are to the AFL what Peyton Manning and Marvin Harrison are to the NFL. With the legendary Sid Gillman as their head coach, Hadl and Alworth enshrined themselves in the AFL record books, hooking up for 56 touchdowns -- more than any other duo in AFL history. Alworth holds the AFL record with nine consecutive games scoring a touchdown, while Hadl tied the AFL's longest streak with a passing touchdown in 19 consecutive games. Alworth will be remembered as the greatest receiver in AFL history, as he led the league in receiving more times than any other player. He did it three times, and in one of those seasons, 1965, Hadl also led the league in passing.

Discuss ()

NFL News