Michael Irvin, Cris Carter named Pro Bowl captains


The Pro Bowl will enter its second year using the draft format when players head to Arizona prior to Super Bowl XLIX.

Two Hall of Fame wide receivers -- Michael Irvin and Cris Carter -- have been selected as the alumni captains, the NFL announced Wednesday.

"Some of my favorite NFL memories were from my Pro Bowl trips," said Irvin, who currently serves as an analyst for NFL Network. "I can't wait to see which players get the Pro Bowl nod this season. I'm already thinking about how to build my team."

"Being voted to the Pro Bowl was always a tremendous honor for me," added Carter, an analyst for ESPN. "Last year, players really seemed to be excited about the new rules and the Pro Bowl Draft format. I'm excited to be a part of it this year."

Last season marked the first "unconferenced" Pro Bowl, in which players were drafted by captains Jerry Rice and Deion Sanders. The dynamic of teammates playing against each other added an interesting element to the all-star contest. Team Rice defeated Team Sanders 22-21, in one of the more competitive Pro Bowl games in recent memory.

The 2015 Pro Bowl Draft will be held on January 20-21 and broadcast in prime time on NFL Network. The Pro Bowl will be played on Sunday, Jan. 25.

The latest Around The League Podcast visits with former Jets general manager Mike Tannenbaum and discusses the best of the early training-camp surprises.