CFB 24/7  


Media picks FSU to win ACC title, Winston for player of year


GREENSBORO, N.C. -- In a vote that should surprise no one, defending national champion Florida State was the media pick to win the ACC title this season.

NFL Media analyst Bucky Brooks digs deep into the game tape to evaluate college football's most talented players.

» Vic Beasley, DE, Clemson
» Bryce Petty, QB, Baylor
» Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, CB, Oregon
» Leonard Williams, DL, USC
» Jameis Winston, QB, Florida State
» Wisconsin's Gordon vs. Georgia's Gurley

In addition, FSU sophomore quarterback Jameis Winston -- who won the Heisman last season, when he led the Seminoles to the national title -- was picked Monday as the league's preseason player of the year in a vote of media members at the ACC Kickoff media event.

» Winston on Cam Newton: We have some similar qualities

Florida State was picked as Atlantic Division champ and the overall ACC winner. Miami was picked to win the Coastal Division. Interestingly, UM's 26 first-place votes were just third-most in the division, but the Hurricanes' total points led the way. FSU is aiming for its third consecutive league title.

Following FSU in the Atlantic were Clemson, Louisville, Syracuse, North Carolina State, Boston College and Wake Forest. Following Miami in the Coastal were Duke (which received the most first-place votes in the division), Virginia Tech, North Carolina, Georgia Tech, Pitt and Virginia. UVa was the only school in the division that didn't get at least one first-place vote.

Clemson defensive end Vic Beasley was second in player of the year voting.

Mike Huguenin can be reached at You also can follow him on Twitter @MikeHuguenin.



The previous element was an advertisement.

NFL Shop