Around the League  

 

Bill Belichick disagrees with penalty call in Pats' loss

Bill Belichick didn't agree with the controversial penalty that ultimately helped give the New York Jets a victory Sunday.

Jets kicker Nick Folk missed a 56-yard field-goal attempt in overtime, but New England Patriots defensive tackle Chris Jones was flagged 15 yards for unsportsmanlike conduct on the play for pushing a teammate into the offensive formation. Folk kicked the winning field goal four plays later.

Belichick was asked if he believed it was a legitimate call.

"We weren't on the second level when we pushed him, no," the Patriots coach said. "You can't push from the second level. I didn't think we did that."

The penalty is based on a new rule put in place this offseason. The rulebook states: "Team B players cannot push teammates on the line of scrimmage into the offensive formation."

You can question the rule, but that's what happened on this play. The rulebook does not say that it matters where a player lines up, then pushes a teammate.

On NFL Network
NFL Replay
will re-air the New York Jets' 30-27 win over the New England Patriots from Week 7 on Tuesday, Oct. 22 at 2 p.m. ET.

» NFL Network schedule

Dean Blandino, the NFL's vice president of officiating, explained the penalty to NFL Network: "When you look at the play, you can see New England No. 94 (Jones) pushing New England No. 74 (Will Svitek) into the (offensive) formation. That's a violation of the rule, it was put in for player safety, and it is the correct call."

Greg Bedard of TheMMQB.com pointed out that the examples the NFL showed teams during the offseason concerning the new rule showed linebackers lining up behind defensive linemen and pushing. That could be why Belichick was confused.

"We've seen it before, and it hasn't been called," Blandino said. "This is the first time it's been called."

The "Around The League Podcast" is now available on iTunes! Click here to listen and subscribe.

Fan Discussion

NFL News
CONTENT
15