Texans clinch AFC South title with win over Colts

  • By Associated Press
More Columns >

HOUSTON -- The Houston Texans are AFC South champions for the second straight year after beating the Indianapolis Colts 29-17 Sunday.

Andre Johnson had 151 yards receiving and a touchdown, Bryan Braman scored a special teams touchdown on a blocked punt, and Shayne Graham kicked five field goals.

Relive every game this season online and on-demand with enhanced viewing features, including the "All-22" coaches film. Get NFL Game Rewind.

The Texans (12-2) grabbed their first AFC South title last season after the Colts nosedived without injured quarterback Peyton Manning. Manning is gone and Andrew Luck couldn't do much against the inspired Houston defense.

The Colts (9-5) had won three straight and needed a win to clinch a playoff berth a year after going 2-14.

But Houston held them off, thanks in part to three sacks from J.J. Watt, to get back on track a week after an embarrassing 42-14 loss to the New England Patriots on national television. The Texans will have home-field advantage throughout the AFC playoffs in they win out.

Copyright 2012 by The Associated Press

To re-live Johnson's big game against the Colts in high definition online, get NFL Game Rewind



The previous element was an advertisement.

NFL Shop