NFL to address Packers-Seahawks TD call Tuesday


The entire sports world is talking about it. On Tuesday, the NFL officially will address the controversial call that ended the Seattle Seahawks' 14-12 victory over the Green Bay Packers, NFL Network and's Steve Wyche reported on "NFL AM."

» Carroll offers no apologies for finish | Watch
» Tate on catch: 'The refs made the call, not me'
» Rodgers rants on radio | McCarthy: 'Total chaos'
» President Obama tweets about locked-out refs
» NFL supports decision to not overturn TD
» League: Goodell didn't have power to change call
» NFL: Game should have ended on Tate penalty
» Darlington: Time for refs, NFL to figure it out
» Lombardi: Resolution needed in dispute with refs
» Seahawks' Hail Mary vs. Packers will live in infamy
» Packers angry after defeat | Vent on Twitter
» Packers fans protest at Lambeau | Watch
» Tate denies push-off | 'Hawks D sets up mayhem
» McCarthy slow to adjust | Mistakes enable chaos

» Refs award winning TD to Seattle | Wilson reacts
» What broadcasters said | Locker-room reaction

Seahawks wide receiver Golden Tate was awarded a touchdown on a 24-yard Hail Mary pass to win the game when officials ruled that he and Packers defensive back M.D. Jennings had simultaneous possession of Seattle quarterback Russell Wilson's pass. One official ruled touchdown, but another appeared to rule a touchback, which would have given Green Bay the win.

The play was reviewed, and the touchdown stood.

Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 5 of the NFL rulebook discusses a simultaneous catch.

"If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control," the rule states.

That strongly indicates Jennings should have been awarded an interception. Tate never seemed to truly gain joint control. A little-known part of the rule explains why the call wasn't overturned.

The rulebook also states when a simultaneous catch is ruled, you can't review who made the catch. You can only review if it was complete or incomplete.

It will be interesting to hear the NFL's response here. Barring the league awarding the victory to the Packers -- which is beyond unlikely -- the response likely will not satisfy the Packers and their fans.

Follow Gregg Rosenthal on Twitter @greggrosenthal.