AFL 50th Anniversary - NO LONGER IN USE  


NFL announces 2009 AFL 'Legacy Games'

  • By National Football League
More Columns >
R Michael Zilz / National Football League
The original AFL teams get ready to unleash the memories from a colorful era in pro football.

The NFL has announced the 16 AFL Legacy Games that will be played during the 2009 NFL season.

This season marks the 50th season for the eight original American Football League teams. As part of the celebration, the eight original AFL teams will wear historic uniforms during Legacy Games.

Remember the AFL
The upcoming season marks the 50th for the original member franchises of the American Football League. Relive its brief yet colorful history with this photo presentation. More ...

» Jauron's fond AFL memories
» History of the AFL, 1960-69

Eleven Legacy Games will be match-ups between the eight original AFL teams. The other five Legacy Games include the Dallas Cowboys playing the "Dallas Texans" in Kansas City (Oct. 11, 1 p.m. ET) and the Oakland Raiders visiting the Dallas Cowboys in the Raiders' first Thanksgiving game since 1970 (Nov. 26, 4:15 p.m. ET). In addition, three of the Legacy Games feature the Miami Dolphins who joined the AFL in 1966.

To kick off the slate of Legacy Games, the Bills will take on the Tennessee Titans in the Pro Football Hall of Fame Game in Canton, Ohio on Sunday, Aug. 9. The game will be televised nationally by NBC at 8 p.m. ET.

On Monday night, Sept. 14, ESPN will host a Monday Night Football doubleheader that will be part of the NFL's celebration of the 50th anniversary season of the AFL. The four clubs competing that night began playing in the inaugural 1960 AFL season. The first game (7 p.m. ET) will send the Buffalo Bills to Foxboro to visit the New England Patriots, the decade's winningest team (102-42 since 2000). The MNF nightcap (10:15 p.m. ET) will be an AFC West battle as the Oakland Raiders host the three-time defending division champ San Diego Chargers.

The American Football League, which merged with the NFL in 1970, played its first season in 1960 with eight teams. The original eight AFL teams were the Buffalo Bills, Denver Broncos, Kansas City Chiefs (played as Dallas Texans), New England Patriots (played as the Boston Patriots), New York Jets (played as the Titans of New York), Oakland Raiders, San Diego Chargers and Tennessee Titans (played as the Houston Oilers). The Miami Dolphins became the ninth AFL franchise and played its first game in 1966. The Cincinnati Bengals followed as the tenth AFL team playing its first game during the 1968 season.

2009 AFL Legacy Games television schedule (all times ET)
Sunday, Aug. 9 Pro Football Hall of Fame Game, Canton, Ohio
Buffalo Bills vs. Tennessee Titans (Houston Oilers)
NBC 8 p.m.
Monday, Sept. 14 Buffalo Bills at New England Patriots (Boston Patriots) ESPN 7 p.m.
Monday, Sept. 14 San Diego Chargers at Oakland Raiders ESPN 10:15 p.m.
Sunday, Sept. 27 Tennessee Titans (Houston Oilers) at New York Jets (Titans of New York) CBS 1 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 11 Dallas Cowboys at Kansas City Chiefs (Dallas Texans) FOX 1 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 11 New England Patriots (Boston Patriots) at Denver Broncos CBS 4:15 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 18 Tennessee Titans (Houston Oilers) at New England Patriots (Boston Patriots) CBS 4:15 p.m.
Monday, Oct. 19 Denver Broncos at San Diego Chargers ESPN 8:30 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 25 San Diego Chargers at Kansas City Chiefs (Dallas Texans) CBS 1 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 25 New York Jets (Titans of New York) at Oakland Raiders CBS 4:05 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 1 Miami Dolphins at New York Jets (Titans of New York) CBS 1 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 15 Buffalo Bills at Tennessee Titans (Houston Oilers) CBS 1 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 15 Kansas City Chiefs (Dallas Texans) at Oakland Raiders CBS 4:05 p.m.
Thursday, Nov. 26 Oakland Raiders at Dallas Cowboys CBS 4:15 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 29 Miami Dolphins at Buffalo Bills CBS 1 p.m.
Sunday, Dec. 6 New England Patriots (Boston Patriots) at Miami Dolphins NBC 8:20 p.m.

The NFL and clubs are planning to celebrate the 50th AFL season with numerous events this year.

NFL Network, and NFL Films will also commemorate the 50th season with unique content and programming highlighting the history of the AFL and the original eight teams.

A "legacy" collection, featuring new retro-themed apparel and products, will be introduced this summer and will be available on and at other retail locations. Among the merchandise offered will be jerseys, hats, t-shirts, sweatshirts, jackets and pennants.

Game-worn jerseys and signed memorabilia will be auctioned at NFL Auctions throughout the season with the monies raised going to the NFL Player Care Foundation.

Below is a list of the historic uniforms to be worn by the eight original AFL teams during Legacy Games this season:

The look at the AFL Legacy Games
AFL team
Legacy uniform
Buffalo Bills 1965 AFL Championship season: White helmet featuring a simple red buffalo.
Denver Broncos 1960 season: Brown and yellow uniform; brown helmet.
Kansas City Chiefs (Dallas Texans) 1962 AFL Championship season: Red and white uniform; red helmet featuring an outline of the state of Texas (played in Dallas 1960-62 before moving to Kansas City).
New England Patriots (Boston Patriots) 1963 divisional championship season: White helmet featuring the original Patriot logo.
New York Jets (Titans of New York) 1961 season: Gold and navy uniforms; navy helmet.
Oakland Raiders 1963 season: White (away) jersey features silver numbers outlined in black; silver helmet with original Raiders logo.
San Diego Chargers 1963 AFL Championship season: White pants with yellow bolt down legs.
Tennessee Titans (Houston Oilers) 1960 season: Blue and white jersey with red accents; blue helmet with derrick logo (played in Houston 1960-96 before moving to Tennessee).



The previous element was an advertisement.

NFL Shop