Walter Payton NFL Man of the year

Presented by Nationwide

The Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award recognizes an NFL player for his excellence on and off the field. The award was established in 1970. It was renamed in 1999 after the late Hall of Fame Chicago Bears running back, Walter Payton. Each team nominates one player who has had a significant positive impact on his community.

The winner of the award each year receives $250,000 donated to the charity of his choice. All other 31 nominees will receive a $50,000 donation in their name donated to their charity of choice. All donations are courtesy of the NFL Foundation and Nationwide.

Congratulations to Cam Newton who received the most votes in Nationwide's 5th annual Charity Challenge, a social media campaign designed to support and promote team nominees. Cam Newton will receive a $25,000 contribution to his charity of choice. Congratulations to Nick Sundberg and Kyle Rudolph, the second and third place finishers, who will receive $10,000 and $5,000 donations, respectively. All donations are courtesy of Nationwide. Tune in to NFL Honors on February 1 at 8 p.m. ET on FOX to find out who will win the 2019 Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award presented by Nationwide!

Award Nominees